Sorry I haven’t updated in a few days, really the past week has been a bit…mundane, so I didn’t want to bore you with any of those kind of details. I’ve been pretty much attending school in the morning/early afternoon, eating, studying, eating some more, and going to bed. I told myself before I left that I would be going out EVERY night, but the actual logistics and time restraints make that pretty much impossible. Let me put it this way – I’ve never studied so hard in my life for a class that didn’t really count for any kind of credit. (well, life credit (?) maybe, but that’s different.)

IMG_1348Not the BEST study environment, but it reminds me alot of my old college days!

On Wednesday a few friends and I set out to find the restaurant with the best mohndew (again, sorry about the phonetic spelling, it seriously sucks). Our friend Richard remembered a place he went to a few years back, so we headed over by subway. (which, have I mentioned, is amazing, no really.)

IMG_1351Let me tell you, this did NOT disappoint. We were contemplating ordering another order to go, but the restaurant was closing soon, so we had to make do with what we had. They were HUGE.

IMG_1352Can’t forget the noodles we ate as well – I added a crapload of hot sauce to mine, my nose wouldn’t stop running, but I was a happy camper.

Actually, to date, I have yet to have a meal that hasn’t been a culinary delight to my taste buds. Even when I cook at home (which I’ve done a few times, while studying and being too lazy to go out) the instant food Korea has is amaaaaaaaazing.

IMG_0989Oh Korean snack and soft drink, I heart you.

We ate at a Chinese restaurant on Wednesday, where I encountered my first fancy toilet. Let me just say, the experience did not go as well as planned. My advice to any one encountering a fancy toilet: make sure you are SITTING before trying to push any fancy buttons on the fancy toilet. ;o)

IMG_7708mmm, Korea’s version of Chinese food…

Just a small observation for those who are wondering what Korea is like – it’s amazing. But the thing I was most surprised about is how BIG CITY it is. I mean, I know, it’s like 8+ million people, but I really had no idea it would look the way it did – it kind of reminded me of New York, with the many shops, lights, cars, and busy people. The weather is also similar – hot and sticky in the summer, really cold in the winter.

There are a few key differences though – even though there are hardly ANY garbage cans around, the streets are really clean. Also, obviously, there are mostly Koreans here – with the random foreigner throw in once in a while. For someone who’s used to the virtual melting pot of the USA, and the Bay Area, it’s interesting to see only one homogenous group of people in one place. (I know, I am in Korea, of course there are Koreans. It’s just the LACK of anyone else that I’m trying to point out.)

IMG_1149Average front of an average building.

IMG_1206Bucheon at night.

Thursday was a really long day – Oppa picked me up after class, and we went back to Dongdaemun – this time, we perused all the street vendor stalls. It’s amazing how good the designer knock-offs are here, you seriously can’t even tell the difference, and it seems like EVERYONE has designer clothing/shoes/bags/belts/wallets/watches/etc etc etc. I think the general feeling is, “if it LOOKS real, then who cares if it really is?”

IMG_1357Busy street stalls at Dongdaemun market – around 12 midnight.

I am really enjoying my time here, there’s so much to do, and I haven’t even begun to scratch the surface on all that Korea has to offer…I know it’s going to be hard to leave! I still have alot to share and tell though, so please stay with me!

The upcoming weekend: Hongdae, soccer matches, crazy Korean nightclubs, and a mansion by the sea. πŸ™‚